Because We Were Meant to Be – Chapter 3

Chapter 3

Maya have woken up with a beautiful smile on her face. Who wouldn’t be? She just had a wonderful dream with his prince charming in it.

“Hay, pag ganun ba naman lagi napapanaginipan ko, eh di ang saya! Makaligo na nga.”

She was humming all the way to the bathroom and sang under the spray of shower. Her heart was smiling with her. Her heart that has been sleeping for a very long time has woken up. He is back.

“Good morning ma’am!” Students whom she passed by greeted her and she greeted back with a sweet smile. She was in heaven.

Upon entering her office, she found her bestfriend waiting for her.

“Emman! Why are you here?” Her radiant smile still etched on her face.

“Tigilan mo nga ako sa ngiti mo at nasisilaw ako!” His reply.

“Hahaha. Ewan ko sayo Emman, nakangiti lang ung tao kung ano na nasabi mo.”

“Aba eh baka mapunit po kasi ang mukha mo sa sobrang lapad ng ngiti mo. Lahat ng nakasalubong mo nasilaw din.”

The bestfriends laugh at Emman’s remark. How can Maya deny, she was certainly happy. And seems everything was glowing within her. Why? Because.

“Hay, Emman. He’s back! At ako ang una nyang pinuntahan.”

“Alam ko girl. Ilang beses mo na ba inulit-ulit sa telepono nung naguusap tayo?”

“Ang saya ko lang talaga kasi.”

“Kaso girl, kelan nyo ba titigilan ang tawagang ‘pinsan’ eh di naman kayo magkaano-ano at yang pagtawag mo sa kanya ng Kuya, eh di naman ganun kalayo ang agwat ng edad nyo?”

“Eh, di ko alam. Alangan naman ako mauna?”

She went down memory lane.

-Flashback-

Ten years ago.

A thirteen year old Maya was on her first day of high school. She was overwhelmed with the surrounding. She was looking back and forth hoping to sight someone she knows. Unfortunately, there was none.

“Hi Miss. Freshie?”

She timidly nod her head.

“Do you need help?”

The guy seems helpful but quite intimidating that he is making her more scared that she already was. Then suddenly.

“Insan! Nandito ka lang pala. Kanina pa kita hinahanap.” Richard Lim, the senior high school president and the hottest guy in school.

“Eh insan, nakita ko lang sya. Mukhang bago eh. Tsaka parang natatakot sa akin.” Ryan informed Ricky.

“Sorry po, nagulat lang talaga ko. Nahihiya kasi ako.” Maya timidly said.

“Ok lang yan miss, marami talagang natatakot dito sa pinsan ko. Mukhang bully pero mabait yan. Ako nga pala si Richard Lim, Ricky for short. Ito naman si Ryan Ching, pinsan ko.”

“Hello sa inyo. Ako si Maya dela Rosa. Bagong lipat lang kami ng pamilya ko dito sa Maynila.”

“Nice to meet you Maya. Samahan ka na namin para makalibot ka na rin.” Ryan offered.

“Sige, maraming salamat talaga.” She smiled at them both. Uttering a silent prayer of thanks for her saviors.

“Tara.” Richard told them.

“Oh, dito na classroom mo. Dun sa dulo ng hallway naman ang sa amin. Puntahan ka na lang din namin mamayang lunch. Sabay ka na sa amin.” Ricky said.

“Maraming salamat talaga sa inyo.”

“Kuya na lang itawag mo sa min. Kunwari pinsan ka namin para walang mangungulit sa’yo.” Ryan jested.

Though a bit surprised with the offer, she happily accepted since she was really new in Manila.

“Sige, thank you sa inyo mga Kuya.” Maya smiled.

Ricky on the other hand just gave a timid smile.

“Una na kami ha. Mamaya na lang uli.”

“Hi! Bago ka lang?” Since most of the students were elementary graduates of the school, they know one another already.

“Ah, oo. Ako nga pala si Maya.”

“Hi Maya. Ako nga pala si Edselyn, Eds na lang. Ito naman si John, Simon at Emman.”

“Hello Maya! I have a feeling that we will be the best of friends!” Emman enthusiastically greeted her.

“Hi Maya!” John and Simon greeted her at the same time.

“Oo nga pala Maya. Nakita kong hinatid ka ng mga hottest boys in school. Close kayo?”

Maya was a bit surprised.

“Ah.. mga pinsan ko.” She said.

“Woah! Cousin with the lovely boys. We really are so gonna be very very be the best of friends.”

Since she really don’t want to be dishonest with her new found friends, she confessed.

“Uhmm, actually. Kanina ko lang sila nameet and sila ung nagtour sa akin dito. Eh, si Ryan nakaisip na akuin akong pinsan para daw wala masyadong mangungulit sa kin.”

“Oh wow! Two good looking knight in shining armor ang mga bantay! Haba ng hair mo girl! Don’t you worry, me and Eds will be your maidens.” Emman jested.

All laughed at Emman’s antics.

Lunch break.

Maya was with her new friends when Ryan called her to their table.

“Maya! Halika dito.”

Maya went near them quite undecided since she is with her new friends. Ricky saw her predicament and offered.

“Maya, you and your friends can sit here with us.”

Emman and Eds looked at each other, both eyes widening. John and Simon were just there to follow.

“Salamat Kuya Ricky.” Ricky just looked and Ryan moved to give space to them.

Maya sat in between Ryan and Ricky, and the rest were all on the other side.

4 thoughts on “Because We Were Meant to Be – Chapter 3

Leave a Reply

