Because We Were Meant to Be – Chapter 8

Chapter 8

Maya was surprised upon arriving to her office. There was a beautiful bouquet of flowers awaiting her. She checked on it and looked for the card.

Message: To the most beautiful girl to grace the earth. Good morning. –R

A knock was heard on her door, and Emman got in.

“Oh my pink gosh! Who is it from?” Emman was smiling, his eyes were twinkling though. He seem to know something.

“Ah, hindi ko alam eh. R lang nakalagay.” Maya then showed the card to him.

“Hmmm..hindi kaya kay Ricky galing?”

“Huh? Bakit naman?”

“Baka nagpapasalamat. Di ba sinamahan mo siyang magunwind?” Maya confided to Emman last night since sleep has evaded her, with her mind floating due to what transpired the whole afternoon with Ricky.

“Kung siya nga, pano ko magpapasalamat? Baka mamaya hindi pala sa kanya galing, ang assuming ko naman nun. Tsaka malay ba natin, baka gusto lang talaga magunwind nung tao.”

“Ewan ko sayo Mayabels. Kung gusto nyang magunwind, pwede naman nyang ayain ung pinsan nya, si Ryan. Bakit ikaw?

“Kasi may asawa na si Ryan. Syempre baka nahiya si Ricky.”

“At sayo hindi?”

Maya had nothing to reply.

Emman had long been gone to attend to his class. Maya still got time to mull on what to do. Since she has finished all pending works last week.

“Ah, bahala na nga.” Maya told herself.

Message: Hi Ricky!

Ricky was busy reading the documents Ryan had presented to him when his phone beeped.

A smile formed on his face upon reading who the message sender was.

Reply: Hi Maya! How was your day so far? Hope it’s better than mine. J

Message: Why? Full load ba uli?

Reply: Oo eh. Natambakan ng mga kailangan basahin at pirmahan. May lakad ka ba mamaya? Ayain sana kita magmeryenda after work or dinner kung anong oras ka uuwi.

Maya did a double check upon reading the message Ricky sent.

“Is he really inviting me out???”

Reply: Uhmm..sige meryenda na lang kung maaga labas mo. 4:30 kasi labas ko.

Message: Ok, sunduin na lang kita dyan.

Emman burst into her room. Maya who was busily reading the last message from Ricky felt so shocked with her friend.

“Oh anong meron at ang lapad ng ngiti. Mapupunit na naman ang mukha?”

“Emman talaga. Wala, natutuwa lang ako.”

“At bakit nga?”

“Inaya kasi ako ni Ricky magmeryenda mamayang uwian.”

“Oh my pink gosh! Umamin ba na sya ang nagpadala nung flowers?”

“Ha, eh di ko naitanong. Nahihiya ako eh.”

Emman can only roll his eyes.

On the other hand.

“Pinsan, baka gusto mo kong pansinin?” Ryan poked Ricky who seem got lost.

“Sorry Ry. Katext ko kasi si Maya.”

“Oh. So ano na?”

“Niyaya ko magmeryenda, pumayag naman!”

“Ayun naman. Nice brod!”

“Grabe ka naman Ry. Meryenda lang.”

“Oh. Eh di ba nung isang araw magkasama rin kayo? Ano na ba? Umamin ka na ba?”

“Hindi pa. Pero napatigil ko na siya sa pagtawag ng kuya sa kin.” Ricky said all smiles.

Ryan laughed and was feeling happy with what’s happening forgetting something he has done.

Leave a Reply

