If Only – Cravings

If Only – Cravings

“Dad?”
“Yes Luke?”
“May problema po ba kayo ni Mommy?”
Ricky looked at his son. Reminiscing about when he was still a little kid.
“Dad?”
“Sorry son, may naalala lang ako. Ah, regarding your question, wala naman kaming problema ng mom nyo kaso parang laging galit sa akin.”
“Di kaya pinaglilihian ka nya dad?”
Ricky looked at Luke, realizations dawning on him.
“You may be right son.”
“Dad gusto mo tawagan ko si mom tapos tanungin ko kung anong gusto nyang kainin? Baka makatulong sayo dad.”
Ricky smiled.
“Thanks son.”
Ring..ring..
“Luke?”
“Hi mom! Ask ko lang po sana baka may gusto kayong ipabili, dadaan po ako sa supermarket.”
“Ah talaga Luke? Sige, pwede ba magpasuyo ng mangoosten?”
“Sige po mommy. Bye!”
“Thank you Luke! Bye.”
Luke looked at his dad and Ricky shook his head and smiled.
“Thank you son.”

Home
“Hi Mom!”
“Hello Luke!”
“Ito nga po pala ung pinapabili nyo. Pasensya na po ah, konti lang.”
“Naku okay lang anak. Thank you ha. Siya nga pala, bat di kayo sabay ng daddy mo?”
“Eh may dadaanan pa daw po sya.”
Then they heard his dad’s car.
“Nandito na po pala si dad.”
The twins came running out from their room.
“Dahdi, dahdi!”
Sky shouted. Sunshine following behind.
“Naku ang kambal miss na miss ang daddy nila.”
“Hay naku mom, they were shouting in their room when they heard dad’s car.”
“Joma, dito na lang. Thank you!
The kids kissed their dad to greet them.
“Sweetheart, ano yan.”
“For you sweetheart. Straight from Davao.”
Maya’s interest was piqued and excitedly check on the barrel.
“SWEETHEART!!!”
Ricky was alarmed.
“Ah, sweetheart? Why?”
Maya hugged her husband and peppered his face with kisses.
“Sweetheart! Thank you! Thank you! Ang dami nito. Tapos from Davao talaga.”
Ricky released a sigh of relief knowing his wife appreciated his efforts. Ricky kissed her on the lips.
“You’re welcome sweetheart.”
“Me! Me! Me!!!!!”
“hahaha.. napakaseloso naman talaga ni grumpy Sky. Come here buddy.”
Sky went to his dad who carried him and kissed him on the cheeks. Then he turned back to his wife.
“Am glad you liked my pasalubong sweetheart.”
“Sweetheart, hindi ko like. Love ko! I love you and thank you!”
Ricky smiled, feeling victorious.
“So okay na tayo sweetheart?”
“Bakit? Okay naman talaga tayo.”
“Okay.”
Luke was silently smiling. Crisis averted. His dad looked at him, thanking him silently. He nodded for acknowledgment.

-The night before-
“Ricky, sabi ko ayoko kitang katabi. Dun ka sa kwarto ni Luke matulog.”
“Sweetheart, ano bang meron? Ano bang nagawa ko?”
Maya was glaring at him.
“Ewan ko sayo Ricardo. Basta wag ka dito matulog sa kwarto.”
Then Maya sauntered to the bathroom to clean up.

-inside the bathroom-
Maya was pouting, huffing.
“Nakakainis! Di nya matandaan na gusto ko ng mangoosten, tinanong pa nya ko.”

-last night-
“Sweetheart, do you have any cravings?”
“Gusto ko ung violet ang kulay na prutas. Ung bilog.”
“Ah, sweetheart, parang ang hirap nyan ah. Di mo ba alam anong tawag dun?”
“Hindi ko matandaan sweetheart eh. Basta masarap un.”
“Ummm, wala na bang ibang clue?”
Maya glared at him and turned her back at him. Ricky was surprised so he embraced her from the back.
“Okay sweetheart, magpapabili ako bukas.”
Even though he has no idea what he should be buying he has to assure his wife. She’s pregnant after all.

The following day.
“Hi sweetheart, here’s your pasalubong.”
Maya was very excited to see what her husband bought only to be disappointed.
“Hindi naman yan sweetheart ung pinapabili ko eh.”
Maya’s mood turned sour and Ricky was in panic as he really has no idea what his wife wants. He bought grapes, duhat, and plums.
“Ah sweetheart, I’m sorry. “
Maya huffed and turned her back at him.
“You’re in big trouble Ricky.”
Indeed he was, he’s just lucky he got great kids.

-present-
“Grabe sweetheart thank you talaga. Ang sarap. Gusto mo?”
“It’s okay sweetheart, para sayo talaga yan.”
Ricky was enjoying watching Maya eat mangoosteen and she was teaching the twins how to eat the fruit as well.
“ummy mommy.”
“Mukha nga Sky, andungis mo na. hahaha”
Sky laughed along his mom. Sunshine on the other hand was eating like a princess, she uses spoon.
“Hay Sunshine, you’re just like ate Nikki.”
“Mom!” Nikki jokingly protested. And the family laughed.
“Is it yummy Shine?”
“Yes mommy.” She answered and smiled at her mom.
The older kids were enjoying as well eating the fruit.
“Sweetheart?”
“Yes, sweetheart? You want anything else?”
“Ummm, eh kasi di ba galing Davao to.”
“Okay? Gusto mo pa bang magpaorder uli ako ng mangoosten?”
“Ah no sweetheart.”
“Eh anong gusto mong paorder ko sa Davao?”
“Durian.”
The older kids’ eyes bugged out. They never go near the fruit section if they see durian on stock. Ricky on the other hand was excited, he secretly loves durian. He just couldn’t buy some since he knows their kids are no fan of this fruit.
“Sure sweetheart. Papabili ako ng marami.”
“No!”
Their kids shouted in unison. Ricky was controlling his laughter.
“Ah okay.”
Seeing their mom’s forlorn face, they panicked. Good thing Luke was fast to recover.
“Ah mom, ang ibig po namin sabihin wag masyadong marami kasi baka mabulok po. Sayang naman. Eh malalaki po di ba ung mga durian from Davao.”
Ricky had to cover with a cough his laughter.
“Ah, tama ka Luke. If ever naman, pwede na rin ung sa supermarket. So, sweetheart, makakabili ka bukas?”
“Sure sweetheart, whatever you want.”

Mommy happy, everybody happy too. 

[A/N: Pasensya na..writer’s block..di pa ko makadagdag ng chapter sa I hate..super busy..dami need tapusin sa work..hope you enjoy this short piece.]

20 thoughts on “If Only – Cravings

  1. Thankie much..i just wonder puro from Davao ang cravings ni Maya di kaya nagbiBsaya na yun baby paglabas.? Wahahahahaha Pastilan baya! 🙂

  2. yehey may lumabas na update ng “If Only” at nakakalokang singkit, slow sa pag isip ng mangoosten. ano kaya kung hanggang ngayon andyan pa ang show at ito ang napapanood natin? imagine Richard Lim mag-a-anim na ang anak, paano pag another twins ang lalabas? hahaha

  3. am enjoying this IF Only….katuwa ang Lim Family…prang alive na alive in my imagination everytime i read this…thank you so so much more more pls? God bless!

Leave a Reply

